Bindi Irwin Shared The Amazing News Of His Dad’s Star On Hollywood Walk Of Fame

Find Out Who Else Is Getting One!

Steve Irwin is set to receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2018, as announced by the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce on Friday.

Other honorees in the prestigious 2018 class include Snoop Dogg, Lin-Manuel Miranda, RuPaul and Jennifer Lawrence.

A star for the beloved Crocodile Hunter

Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin, is set to receive a posthumous star on Hollywood’s prestigious Walk of Fame. The Walk of Fame Committee announced the news on Friday morning, honoring the late nature expert for his “outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry through his wildlife documentaries”.

Irwin rose to international fame in 1996 with his documentary series, ‘The Crocodile Hunter’.

He was a highly respected conservationist and world-renowned television personality who was the face behind Australia Zoo, one of Queensland’s most iconic tourist destinations.

He became regular on US television, with his popular show ‘The Crocodile Hunter’. Steve also used to make passionate and animated appearances on late-night talk shows endeared him to millions around the world.

The wildlife conservationist also had his Hollywood moments. His forays into Hollywood included cameos in movies like Eddie Murphy‘s Dr. Dolittle 2 and George Miller’s Oscar-winning Happy Feet, released weeks after his death.

The adventurous wildlife warrior died in 2006 while making the documentary, Ocean’s Deadliest. After being stabbed in the chest by a stingray barb during underwater filming on the Great Barrier Reef.

His daughter, Bindi Irwin, shared the awesome news on her social media, expressing excitement for her father’s latest honor.

Irwin’s kids have continued to honor his legacy by his death sharing Steve’s passion. Son Robert Irwin made an appearance on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, and it’s to die for.

The Irwin family have two years to schedule the unveiling of the five-pointed terrazzo and brass star embedded in the sidewalks along 15 blocks of Hollywood Boulevard and three blocks of Vine Street in Hollywood.

The 2018 class

Ana Martinez, the VP of media relations for the Walk of Fame, tweeted Thursday night that roughly 300 nominations were considered this year.

Anyone can nominate a celebrity for Walk of Fame star consideration, including fans, the public figure’s manager, agent, studio, network, or the celebrity themselves.

Overseen by the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce since its dedication in November 1960, the Walk of Fame usually adds around 24 new inductees each year, aiming to do two ceremonies per month, according to its official website.

And the 2018 list is already here filled with some well-deserved celebrities, including RuPaul, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Snoop Dogg.

In addition to Irwin these stars will also be added

“The Committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected an eclectic group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world,” said Walk of Famer Vin Di Bona about the selection of the honorees.

In addition to Irwin, Anthony Anderson, Gillian Anderson, Lynda Carter, Simon Cowell, Taraji P. Henson, Eric McCormack, Ryan Murphy, Niecy Nash, Mandy Patinkin will all be celebrated for their work in television. Also in this category are RuPaul and long-time tv creator Shonda Rhimes.

From motion pictures, Jack Black, Kirsten Dunst, Jeff Goldblum, F. Gary Gray, Mark Hamill, Jennifer Lawrence, Gina Lollobrigida, Minnie Mouse, Nick Nolte and Zoe Saldana will be honored. Zoe Saldana is honored following her co-star and buddy Chris Pratt who received the honor earlier this year.

From recording, Mary J. Blige, Sir Richard Branson, Petula Clark, Harry Connick Jr., Ice-T, Snoop Dogg, Carrie Underwood and Weird Al Yankovic will receive stars.

From radio, Steve Jones.

And finally, from live performance, Charles Aznavour, acclaimed Broadway genius Lin-Manuel Miranda, and the late Bernie Mac, who died in 2008, will be recognized

Some of the celebrities shared their reactions to the news.

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Weird Al Yankovich were together at the time of the announcement and graced us with this pic.

While RuPaul played it cool with the announcement.

And Kirsten Dunst found the opportunity to share a typical mom thing.

My mom's always at Vons

A post shared by Kirsten Dunst (@kirstendunst) on

This year’s honorees

This year’s share of honorees has included some of the sweetest ceremonies of all times.

From motion picture, honorees include Viola Davis, Jason Bateman, John Goodman,  Amy Adams, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Mark Ruffalo, Rita Wilson, Brett Ratner, Chris Pratt, and George A. Romero. Ryan Reynolds was also honored this year and graced us with the cutest family moment along with his wife, Blake Lively, and children. Long-time actress Goldie Hawn was also honored this year in a special joint ceremony along with husband Kurt Russell and they showed us all the Hollywood love and glam.

Television honorees include Eva Longoria, Tyra Banks, Sarah Silverman, Jeffrey Tambor, Hugh Lauri Lee Daniels, Keri Russell, Ham Saban, George Segal, Wolfgang Puck, Ken Corday, and Andre Braugher.

Recording honorees include Hall & Oates, Ice Cube, John Legend, *NSYNC, New Edition, Clarence Avant and Adam Levine. There were also two posthumous ceremonies for Jerry Goldsmith and Selena Quintanilla.

Live theater and live performance honorees include Criss Angel, Jeff Dunham, and Gustavo Dudamel.

And finally, for radio, the solo honoree is Elvis Duran.

Via E!

Source: ET 

The Gong Show Mike Myers

‘The Gong Show’ Brings Mike Myers To Our Tv In The Weirdest Way

blade runner

Warner Bros. Released Some Blade Runner 2049 Featurettes